Posted on Jun 29, 2019
To culminate the 50th year of the Rotary Club of St Augustine, a Joint Celebration was held together with the Club's Annual Handing Over Ceremony recently at Jaffa Restaurant in Port of Spain. Ten year old Ella Elizabeth Pollard, Charter President of the first EarlyAct™ Club in Trinidad & Tobago (of the University School) delivered the Opening Remarks.  The Club was honoured to have Charter Member and Past Rotary District 6600 (US) Governor John Brodbeck - now with the Rotary Club of Springdale - come in from Arkansas, US to deliver the Feature Address. 
Additionally, seven Honourary Members were inducted including: Charter Members: Nath Sharma who celebrated 51 years as a Rotarian on 26th June 2019; Dr John Bharath and John Brodbeck who will now be both an Honourary Member with the Rotary Club of St Augustine while still being an active member of the Rotary Club of Springvale in Arkansas, US.  

Honourary Membership was also conferred for Meritorious Community Service to Past Presidents, Dr Bishnu Balbirsingh and Rashide Tallim Mohammed; while Dr Ferdinand Penco and Dr Sateesh Ramphal received same for their contribution to Heartbeat International Trinidad & Tobago (HBITT), a project that was started by the Club over thirty years ago.

Outgoing President Maria Mohammed-Maharaj, handed over the Presidential Chain to 2019 to 2020 President Indar Ramnath.

Other attendees included:  Mr. Joseph FitzGerald, Political Section Chief of the U.S. Embassy, Mr Aniruddha Das, Second Secretary, High Commission of India, Joe Ramkissoon, Past Rotary District 7030 Governor, Principal and Vice Principal of the University School, Rotarians from St Augustine and other Rotary Clubs, Rotaract Club of St Augustine, Inner Wheel Club of Trinidad & Tobago and other guests.
Ten year old Ella Pollard, Charter President of the EarlyAct™ Club of the University School receives the Club's official gavel from Vishnu Balroop, Past President and EarlyAct™ Co-ordinator, Rotary Club of St Augustine.  The EarlyAct™ Club of the University School is the first to be formed in Trinidad & Tobago, sponsored by the Rotary Club of St Augustine.  EarlyAct™ is  a school-wide service club of children aged 5 to 13 years old.