Posted by Maria Mohammed-Maharaj on Feb 26, 2018

On 27th February 2018, the Trinidad East Cluster Clubs held a joint meeting to mark the 113th Anniversary of the founding of Rotary which is observed annually on 23rd February.


In addition to the members of the five east cluster clubs (St Augustine West, St Augustine, Piarco, Arima and Sangre Grande) we had Rotarians from other Clubs in attendance including:

Past District Governor Joe Ramkissoon;
Past District Governor Stephen Ramroop and his Partner-in-Service Joanna;
Immediate Past District Governor Roger Bose
Assistant Governors Gary Williams (East Cluster); Lisa Francis (Central Cluster) and Vilma Bellamy (South Cluster);
Immediate Past District Secretary Ann Marie Rogers and her Partner-in-Service Roland.

Additionally, presidents and representatives from Chaguanas, Felicity/Charlieville and Princes Town Rotary Clubs and the Rotaract Club of St Augustine were also in attendance.

IPDG Roger addressed the gathering and provided some inspiration on how we may become stronger Rotarians who would bring value to our clubs. He also distributed awards and banner recognitions to the Rotary, Rotaract and Interact clubs that had achieved these during the 2016-17 year.

At 19:05 Chicago, USA time (21:05 local time), the group assembled in the car park to release a sky lantern as they toasted to Rotary International. This lantern launch was supervised by Past District Governor Stephen Ramroop.